Law360 Announces Sponsorship of Burton Awards to Honor Achievements in Law

NEW YORK–(BUSINESS WIRE)–Law360, a LexisNexis company, announced that the legal news and analysis
provider will serve as lead sponsor for the Burton Awards, a national
awards program created by William C. Burton and run in association with
the Library of Congress and its Law Library.

The Burton Awards program rewards accomplishments in law, including the
finest writing, teaching, journalism, public service in government,
public interest work, general counsel efforts and achievements of
lawyers in the military. Close to 70 awards are presented annually.

“Law360 and the Burton Awards program both promote the highest level of
achievement in law,” Law360 General Manager Scott Roberts said. “Our
company prides itself on providing high-quality information that helps
legal professionals remain experts in their field, and the Burton Awards
program highlights that expertise across the legal spectrum. This
relationship builds on our long-standing commitment to the best writing
and practice in the service of the law.”

William C. Burton, founder and chair of the awards program, said, “We
are profoundly honored and grateful to Law360 and LexisNexis for their
sponsorship. I look forward to working with this legal industry mainstay
to continue to recognize the greatest accomplishments in law.”

The 2017 Burton Awards program takes place on May 22 at the Library of
Congress. In the past, Supreme Court Justices, as well as noted
scholars, managing partners, general counsel, members of the military,
and legal practitioners have attended and spoken at the event.

The Burton Awards’ honorary Board of Directors includes: Judge Richard
Posner, 7th Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals; Judge Alex Kozinski, 9th
Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals; U.S. Senator John Cornyn; U.S. Senator
Robert P. Casey, Jr.; U.S. Senator Mike Crapo; U.S. Senator Michael F.
Bennet; Supreme Court Justice Carol Corrigan of California; Jane
Sullivan Roberts, Partner, Major, Lindsey & Africa; Lisa Rickard,
President, U.S. Chamber Institute for Legal Reform; Elissa Lichtenstein,
Director, Public Services Division, American Bar Association; Thomas L.
Sager, Partner, Ballard Spahr LLP; Les Parrette, Senior Vice President,
General Counsel and Compliance Officer, Novelis Inc.; and Stephen R.
Mysliwiec, Partner, DLA Piper LLP (US).

The Academic Board of the awards program includes Noah Messing of Yale
Law School; Virginia Wise of Harvard Law School; Jeanne Merino of
Stanford Law School; Lindsay Sturges Saffouri of UC Berkeley School of
Law; Judge Ed Forstenzer, former presiding judge, California Superior
Court; William Ryan, Advisor, Department of Homeland Security; and Roy
Gutterman, Director, Tully Center for Free Speech at Syracuse University.

is your one-stop source for legal news and in-depth analysis, with
up-to-the-minute coverage of litigation, regulation and enforcement,
public policy, and corporate deal-making across 50+ practice areas and
industries. With a unique blend of cutting-edge technology and
journalistic expertise, Law360 delivers the intelligence legal and
business professionals need to remain experts and get ahead of the
curve. Visit
to find out what hundreds of thousands of readers at top law firms,
Fortune 500 companies, and key government agencies already know.

The Law Library of Congress was established in 1832 with the mission to
make its resources available to members of Congress, the Supreme Court,
other branches of the U.S. government and the global legal community and
to sustain and preserve a universal collection of law for future
generations. With more than 5 million items in various formats, the Law
Library of Congress contains the world’s largest collection of law books
and other resources from all countries and provides online databases and
guides to legal information worldwide through its website at

The Library of Congress, the nation’s oldest federal cultural
institution and the largest library in the world, holds more than 158
million items in various languages, disciplines and formats. The Library
serves the U.S. Congress and the nation both on-site in its reading
rooms on Capitol Hill and through its award-winning website at

Burton Awards program is a 501(c)(3) effort funded by the Burton
Foundation which is a not for profit, academic effort. It is devoted to
recognizing and rewarding excellence in the legal profession. Since its
inception in 1999 a principal focus of the organization has been the
refinement and enrichment of legal writing, however, the scope of the
program has grown into recognizing all major achievements in law. The
founder of the program is William C. Burton, a partner in the law firm
Sagat|Burton LLP and both a former New York State Assistant Attorney
General, Assistant Special Prosecutor and author of the profession’s
first legal thesaurus.

Go to Source